Free Drink Friday: What’d he say?

I was chatting the other day about the character Zathrus, from Babylon 5, specifically talking about his wonderful quotes and how they’ve become a part of my regular usage.

For instance, maybe his most famous saying “Zathrus has lived a miserable life. Zathrus will probably die a miserable death. But, at least there is symmetry.”

That quickly became a regular part of my vocabulary. “at least there is symmetry.”

Another series/movie filled to the brim with amazingly well-written, quotable material is Firefly/Serenity.  You could while away a full day waxing nostalgic with quotes in there, and more than a few have wormed their way into my daily life.  I’d love to think, someday, I’ll be good enough to have things I’ve written become part of my reader’s daily lives.

What about yours?  Have you come across any good quotes that were so well written and appropriate, that they stuck with you AND became a part of you?  Are there things you’ve read, or heard in a movie, that rang so true, they roll off your tongue regularly? Ones you’ve taken and sliced up a bit, molding them or using only parts?

“Would it be too irregular or unreligious of me to suggest” you mention some here?

3 Responses to “Free Drink Friday: What’d he say?”

  1. Pete Tzinski Says:

    “No boom today. Boom tomorrow. There is always a boom tomorrow.” — Susan Ivanova.

    Most of my quotes are from Babylon 5 too, honestly. It probably shaped more of my world view than I know… 🙂

  2. Lori Basiewicz Says:

    I use Firefly a lot and Babylon 5, but I also like quotes from Doctor Who. The one that’s coming to mind today is from the episode “The Doctor’s Daughter” about running:

    Jenny: And Time Lords, what are they for?
    The Doctor: For? They’re not for anything.
    Jenny: So what do you do?
    The Doctor: I travel. Through time and space.
    Donna Noble: He saves worlds, rescues civilizations, defeats terrible creatures and runs a lot. Seriously, there’s an outrageous amount of running involved.
    The Doctor: [opens hidden door] Got it!
    [shouts echo]
    The Doctor: Now, what were you saying about running?

    And later:

    Cline: Jenny, come back.
    Jenny: Sorry, can’t stop. What are you gonna do, tell my dad?
    Cline: But where are you going?
    Jenny: Oh, I’ve got the whole universe. Planets to save, civilisations to rescue, creatures to defeat and an awful lot of running to do.

  3. B.R. Says:

    Another great Zatrus quote I’ve used often… When someone asks something I don’t know and keeps on like I SHOULD know, I use Z’s words:
    “Saying would be knowing. I do not know- I can not say.”
    That shuts ’em up. Loved ol’ Zathrus and his wit… I mean you almost bought into the idea the guy was slow but he had too many wise insights. He had them all snowed.


Leave a Reply

