Just a thought

2 AM and I’m still awake
Writing this song if I get it all down
On paper it’s no longer inside of me,
Threatening the life it belongs to.

From Anna Nalick’s really nifty song “Breathe” which I quite like.

I just listened to it, while working, and I’ve always liked that line, but never really clarified. I like it, because I like the idea of art threatening the life it belongs to. Of art being a little bit dangerous and a little bit hard to contain. I like the idea of art being toxic to the artist. It makes good sense to me, and you can see people where perhaps it was overly toxic and it drove them mad (Poe, and Richard Dadd come to mind). I like the idea of toxic art.

Of course, I suppose that metaphor turns the notebook-pencil/computer into, er, your kidneys, and there goes the beauty of the metaphor. Well, maybe not entirely. They’re kidneys, filtering out the art from your blood and running it back through your body, until it fills up with art again and has to be cleaned.

It’s a good image. Just a thought. 🙂

4 Responses to “Just a thought”

  1. tjwriter Says:

    You’re a strange, strange little man, Pete. But we love you anyway.

    Of course, not that I’m also an odd duck…

  2. tjwriter Says:

    Grr.

    That should be, …not that I’m not also an odd duck.

    It’s too early in the morning and I didn’t get enough sleep. Little britches has a cold and was coughing and snotting all night.

  3. Pete Tzinski Says:

    Well, I thought it was an interesting idea, at any rate. 🙂

  4. tjwriter Says:

    I didn’t say it wasn’t interesting or accurate, just that you’re an odd man.

    It probably is accurate, though I’m not filling up with anything right now. I feel empty.


Leave a Reply

