What a difference a year makes

One year ago this month, my sister’s company hosted a Christmas party at the Silverdale Yacht Club. We had dinner, drinks, there were even gifts handed out to the employees.

This year, that company fell victim to the Great Depression II, and no longer exists. She’s unemployed.

One year ago this month, I was actively seeking traditional publication for my novels. I was convinced (by the people I had surrounded myself with) that it was The. Way.

This year, I’ve seen the light. I’ve realized what a ridiculous notion that is for me as a writer – for anyone who is a writer. To focus so narrowly on that as your goal is to do your art a disservice. Now I’m in control, answerable to the only entities that matter – Readers.

I don’t know what December 2009 will bring, but I know what I’ll be doing when it gets here.

Leave a Reply

